Well played, America! (DWTS Results)

22 Sep

[Update upon actually watching the results]
DWTS Week 1 elimination actually surprised me, but I am very happy with your work, America.  (I did not actually tune in, but the internet hooked me up with the information.)

Despite the otherwise interminable nature of the results show, I must say that I enjoyed the pros’ cha-cha.  If you have danced cha-cha, you have danced to Oye Como Va.  It was fun to see what they did with it–very classic, showed off the skills of the Latin champs on the show, and was not overwrought as the pro dances often are.  Also, it was such a lesson in how important the right music is.  I understand DWTS uses a variety of music to engage America, but it’s not easy on the performers.  True cha-cha music (or samba, waltz, etc.) really helps–it accents the important beats so that you know when to step.  Usually.

Libby covered most of my thoughts on yesterday’s performance show but here are a few more:

1. Did anyone else notice that Derek did not seem to be familiar with “These Arms of Mine” when he announced that it would be their song?  On that note, I usually think the band does a nice job but I think we all learned a lesson that covering Otis Redding is something about which EVERYONE should think twice before trying.  (Don’t even think about it, Michael I-think-When-A-Man-Loves-A-Woman-is-my-song Bolton.)  So far I think I like them as a couple but can’t tell how that’s going to work yet. I was hoping she’d be paired with Tony but of course Derek is great so can’t complain.

2. Loving Karina’s new haircut.  Conversely, Lacey’s blond hair is terrifying.

3.  Rick Fox maybe IS too tall, despite what the judges said.

4. How about that Kyle?  I had never heard of him but he was tons of fun.

5.  Sooo, can someone explain why the Situation did not show off his abs?  Isn’t that a job requirement for him? Isn’t that why he was wearing a zip up warm up jacket? [Aha, he showed them off when prompted by Florence Henderson. She’s fun–we need to keep her around!]

6. Libby said it, but I have to second the wishes that Margaret Cho will come out strong next week.

7. I won’t really critique Bristol due to her age and lack of performance background.  (I think the judges were doing the same?) For now,  I’ll just say that I was not impressed with her ability to get the steps down, but let’s wait and see what she can do with more rehearsals.

2 Responses to “Well played, America! (DWTS Results)”

  1. Libby Lowe September 22, 2010 at 2:12 pm #

    I agree with all of your observations, Smart Lady B. I think it’s clear that the Hoff (in addition to sucking) didn’t want to be there. And there’s no room for that on DWTS. Good riddance.

    Also, thank God for the DVR so I could FF through 98% of that show. I get that it’s a results show and see that they’re trying but…maybe they could try harder.

    • B September 22, 2010 at 3:15 pm #

      Goodness, yes, thank God for DVR. (I have to admit that I did not even watch the Hoff on night 1, but I caught enough on the results to know that America was probably unanimous sending him home.)

Leave a Reply

