Dancing in the Round

12 Oct

Where to start?

First let’s congratulate everyone for surviving the raised in the round stage.  No dropped partners.  Hurrah!

Karina/Situation: The abs arrived!  Love the Sweet Dreams music. But poor Situation can’t dance. I think Carrie Ann got it right when he said that walking is his worst move. Most importantly, Karina’s hair scared me.

Oh Florence. Nice dress but that dance was bananas.

Dazamn Jennifer Grey!  That tango rocked. Wowza!  And Len didn’t even have a problem with their piano monkey business at the beginning.  That dance felt so much longer than the others because there was so much more packed in.

Let’s talk about Mark and Bristol.  First, I liked when little Tripp tried to hit Mark at the end of their visit. Someone had to.  When Mark worked with little Shawn Johnson he worked really hard to make her comfortable and keep a friendly distance.  But here, his dances are just way too flirty/sexy considering he is working with a 19 year old non-performer.  Next week, Mark, keep your distance and keep your shirt on!  Seriously.  As to the dancing–such a mixed bag.  She has good and bad moments.

Dearest Audrina: Two things. (1) Getting the high score once does not make you a “front runner.”  Especially when (2) you apparently refuse to make facial expressions for fear of wrinkles.  And here I thought you were just a robot.

Let’s see, who did I purposely forget?

The athletes!  I think the judges got it right.  Oh and that kid who was on It’s So Raven.  I thought he was pretty good.

Brandy/Max–hey they were good!  I give a lot of credit to the lighting and the sheet costume for points but Brandy really did a nice job.

3 Responses to “Dancing in the Round”

  1. Libby Lowe October 12, 2010 at 7:52 pm #

    B,
    Now that Margaret Cho is gone, I’m really having a hard time caring. I love Jennifer Grey, but it’s a two-hour show! Thank God for the DVR. Thanks for your very apt observations this week, and I couldn’t agree more about Audrina.

    • B October 12, 2010 at 8:00 pm #

      Ah Margaret Cho. I never commented on this. I was sorry to see her go. You were so right to predict the touring wasn’t going to help. I would have loved to see her improve each week. I was really disappointed about how their story dance worked out. They were so earnest that they had one, but I really did not get anything from the dance that told me and somehow didn’t even realize that her rainbow costume was symbolic rather than just bright. This is at least the second time Louis has used “story week” to address gay rights/pride issues and it never quite comes out right. I applaud him for wanting to push the message, but I must say, there was no “story” there. Still, a shame Ms. Cho is out and so many other dead-faced people are still there.

      • B October 13, 2010 at 3:36 pm #

        I forgot to watch the results show, but looks like America is back to getting it right. I am stunned. I must say, although he was a disaster, the Situation was well-behaved and seemed nice enough.

Leave a Reply

